U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing



Faust Out Runs Big Dogs in Highland Season Finale


The 2010 racing season at the Highland Speedway came to a close this past Saturday night with Mark Faust, a former UMP and Highland Champion winning his 7th feature of the year in the UMP Super Late Models. Faust led from the start of the 25 lap main event starting on the out side front row. Mike Schulte in the 27s held the pole position. The field was put into single file restart after a caution on lap 3. The 51 of Faust was the leader, followed by Schulte, the 1S of Rick “Salty Dog” Salter and the 28 of John Beck.

The biggest mover was the 78 of “The Highland Bulldog” Chad Zobrist, who was making his move through the field.

Faust was in control for the next 11 laps moving from high to low as Salter would stick the nose of the 1s up along side of the race leader. The caution flag waved again on lap 14 for the slowing racer of Justin Ketrow, this came as the leaders were running into lap traffic. On the restart Faust was still in the lead with “The Salty Dog” Salter, hot on his trail, followed by the 28 of Beck. By this time “The Highland Bulldog” Chad Zobrist was sitting in the fourth spot and the poll sitter Schulte in fifth.

At lap 16 the caution again waved this time for the 8G of Bob Geaschel. On the start of the 17th lap Zobrist moved around Beck and pulled along side of Salter. At lap 23 it was a three wide Dog fight towards the checkers as Faust used every trick in the book to hold off the pair of Racing Dogs hot on his heels, as the trio came out of turn four it was a three wide dash to the end. The #51 of Faust carried enough momentum to finish first, the “Salty Dog” Rick Salter and “The Highland Bulldog” Chad Zobrist, who started from the 9th starting position, finished a very close second and third respectively. Beck was fourth and the 21 of Kerry Gaultney was fifth.


In the Steve Schmitt Modifieds Steve Lach saved the best for last by wining his first ever race behind the wheel of a Modified. Starting form the outside front row Lach lead all of the 20 laps. Brian Bielong finished second, Tyler Diebert third, Brent Thompson fourth and Patrick Lawson rounded out the top five.



The UMP Pro (Crate) Late Models made their one and only appearance at the Highland Speedway and past Highland Champion Mark Oller found the familiar settings of the Speedway much to his liking by dominating the class and taking the win. Tait Davenport of Paducah, KY finished second, “The Italian Stallion” Bobby Martintoni crossed the stripe in third, John Prior fourth and Mark Voigt completed the top five.


Long time Highland Driver Steve Stevenson won the “Run What You Brung’ Sportsmen class and Vince Shehorn from Mt. Vernon won the UMP Factory Stocks.


This closes out the 2010 racing season at the Highland Speedway, Promoter Scott Kuhn would like to thank all the racers, Sponsors and mostly all the fans for making the 2010 season a success and looks forward to the 50th anniversary of the Speedway in 2011


Highland Notes: The Banquet of Champions will be held December 17th

Complete information can be found at the tracks web site Highland Speedway .com

You may also become a friend of the Speedway by joining the Highland Facebook site at FaceBook.com/highlandspeedway


Race Results for 10/2/2010


UMP Late Model - Feature

Finish Car No Driver

1 51 Mark Faust

2 1S Rick Salter

3 78 Chad Zobrist

4 28B John Beck

5 21 Kerry Gaultney

6 25 Frankie Martin

7 27 Mike Schulte

8 441 Brian Wolfmeier

9 441D Dan Jacober

10 33 Shannon Kuhn

11 31 Brent Helmkamp

12 33M Tim Manville

13 8 Bob Geaschel

14 70 Dustin McClintock

15 11 Brian Bielong

16 44 Chris Smalley

17 85 Justin Ketrow

18 16H Mike Hammerle DNS


UMP Steve Schmitt Modified - Feature

Finish Car No Driver

1 42 Steve Lach

2 73 Brian Bielong

3 84 Tyler Deibert

4 18 Brent Thompson

5 2 Patrick Lawson

6 75 Eric Faust

7 0 0 Steve Ellison

8 68 Andy Oswald

9 316 Rick Johnson

10 71 Lynn Tidwell

11 6 Brett Cygan

12 E55 Chad Sellers

13 24J Jacob Steinkoenig

14 50 Bob Johnson DNS

15 27E Kyle Mixon DNS


UMP Crate Late Model - Feature

Finish Car No Driver

1 67 Mark Oller

2 18T Tait Davenport

3 48 Bobby Martintoni

4 25 John Prior

5 30 Mark Voigt

6 10 DJ Cygan

7 6E Ray Emling, Jr

8 87 Jason Zobrist

9 4 Jason Suhre

10 9T Travis Horner

11 18 Bobby Dauderman

12 59R Danny Jolly DNS

13 55 Daniel Heck DNS

14 59 Aaron Heck DNS

15 68 Todd Bourland DNS


UMP Sportsman - Feature

Finish Car No Driver

1 1S Steve Stevenson

2 92J Rick Johnson

3 15 Michael Ripperda

4 25 Lenny Garson

5 13 Tim Fulkerson

6 1H Todd Huegen

7 17 Mike Jones

8 9S Brian Sinn DNS

UMP Factory Stock - Feature

Finish Car No Driver

1 2 Vince Shehorn

2 26 Jordan Suhre

3 97 Bobby Funderburk

4 45 Kyle McMahon

5 0 Jon Easley

6 21 Casey Burns

7 29H Cale Hartnagel

8 9T Travis Horner

9 121V Rick Viviano

10 X Tony Stinde

11 27 Tommy Bruce

12 18 James Southers DNS

13 26K Jordan Cobb DNS

Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.