U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


2011 Champions Crowned At Highland

 HIGHLAND IL (Sept 10th, 2011) The season finale at the Highland speedway brought old favorites to the winners circle, and crowned several new champions. It was St. Louis Auto Racing Fan Club night presented by Lee’s Loans of Highland IL.

Becker Jewelers Super Late Models:

Leaving no doubt in anybody’s mind, Michael Kloos was sending a message to the Super Late Model field at Highland that he was back by finishing the 2011 season with a near runaway feature win. Kloos swept the nights racing events by winning his heat, the dash and feature.alt

The Trenton Tornado led from the drop of the green flag and was looking to lap the majority of the Highland field. On lap 20 Kloos changed his line; he had been running on the high side of the Highland ¼ oval when suddenly in turns one and two, he dropped to the bottom of the turn. In turns three and four he went back to the high side. The change in his driving line allowed second place, and the 2011 Points Highland Champion, Chad Zobrist and Tim Manville, driving the number 33, a chance to make up the large lead Kloos had acquired. Kloos managed to keep the 6K of the Gerstner Racing Team out front for a season ending win. Zobrist gave a great effort but had to settle for second in the race, Manville crossed the stripe third, and Matt Taylor and John Beck, a pair of central Illinois racers was fourth and fifth respectfully. Kloos later said in a post race interview that he was having issues with the throttle linkage and that’s why he had to adjust his driving style.

Chad Zobrist had clinched his third Becker Jewelers Highland Speedway Championship in a row before the night had begun. The “Highland Bulldog” is the only repeating Champion this year at Highland.alt




Steve Schmitt Modifieds;



Scott Weber claims in every victory lane interview he can’t believe he won a feature at the Highland Speedway, but maybe someday he’ll realize he may be the man to altbeat when pulls into the pit gate of the Speedway. Weber, lead the 20 lap main event from the start. Brian Bielong started from the pole, but Weber jumped to the front immediately. On lap 14 Bielong made his move to the front as the two ran side by side. A caution at lap 17 put the field into a single file restart and Bielong couldn’t get gain his altmomentum back and followed the 4J of Weber to the checkers, Newly crowned Steve Schmitt Modified Champion Dean Hoffman place third, former track Champ Chris Smith was fourth and the E55 of Chad Sellers rebounded from a first lap mishap to place fifth.



Pro Late Models:


Rick “The Salty Dog” Salter driving the USA 1 Pro Late Model claimed his first win in that division, The Salty Dog held off Jordan Bauer, Mark Oller, who claimed altyet another Championship in  a different division( he has crowns in the old Street Stock class and in the Super Late Models). Bobby Martintoni ran third, and John Cory rounded out the top 5.alt









altFitting that the winning car of the Sportsmen division carried the number 911, Jon Ripperda captured the win with the 1S of Steve Stevenson finishing Second, Rob Eilers in the 3E placed third, Scott Ponder was fourth and The 2011 Sportsmen Track Champion Rob Lee rounded out the top five.alt


Factory Stock:



Jake Hewett sealed his fate of the becoming the 2011 Factory Stock  by winning the makeup  feature  prior the start of the regular nights events.

altIn the night cap Cale Hartnagel from Millersburg captured his first Factory Stock feature of his young career,  Stephen Fohne, was next Jeff Buss who had a shot at the Championship only to come up one position short, finished third, Zach Hoffman was fourth and Tim Haeffner were your top five finisher.alt


Sport Compacts:


altSage Thornville captured his first win at Highland in the makeup feature from a few weeks back. Rob Shaw captured the altnight cap, Trevor Isaak, the 2011 Sport Compact Champion was second, Bret Eilerman, Bobby Funderburk and Josh Bauer rounded out the top five.









The 2011 50th Anniversary season comes to a close, Promoter Scott Kuhn would like to thanks all the Fans, Racers and Sponsors that made the season possible. An announcement with information of the Highland Speedway 50th Anniversary banquet will be forth coming. Please watch the tracks website HighlandSpeedway.com or on Facebook at Facebook/HighlandSpeedway.

Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.