U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


Melvin Scores Highland Summer Nationals Victory with Last Lap Pass

    Harrison Cruises to Highland Speedway Summit Modified Nationals Victory

Becker Jewelers Super Late Models

Highland, Ill. – (June 20, 2012) - Rodney Melvin has won a few DIRTcar Summer Nationals races in his day, but maybe none more thrilling than his last lap victory at Highland Speedway on Wednesday night that netted him a nice $5,000 payday.

   Melvin, of Benton, Ill., meticulously battled his way from a seventh-place starting spot over the 40-lap main event to put himself in a three-way battle for the lead in the last five laps with then leader Randy Korte of Highland, Ill., and 2010 Hell Tour champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill. Melvin worked the low side and moving past Feger with two to go and then grabbed the lead from Korte exiting turn two on the final lap Korte, a former UMP DIRTcar Late Model National Champion finished second with Feger third. Current Hell Tour point leader Shannon Babb crossed the line fourth. Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., who is Babb's closest contender in the point standings, rounded out the top five.


   Chad Zobrist, one of only two Highland regulars in the field who won his way into the tuff 22 car stating field through qualifying heats finished 12th. “Fast” Frankie Martin was placed into the starting grid on a track provisional, Martin finished 20th.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

A-Main (40-laps):

1. Rodney Melvin ($5,000),

2. Randy Korte,

3. Jason Feger,

4. Shannon Babb,

5. Brian Shirley,

6. Bobby Pierce,

7. Ryan Unzicker,

8. Wendell Wallace,

9. Kevin Weaver,

10. Brandon Sheppard,

11. Mike Spatola,

12. Chad Zobrist,

13. Jon Henry,

14. Tanner English,

15. Dennis Erb Jr.,

16. Frank Heckenast Jr.,

17. Jason McBride,

18. Kevin Cole,

19. Billy Moyer Jr.,

20. Frankie Martin,

21. Mark Burgtorf,

22. Rusty Schlenk.

Fast qualifiers (among 42 cars): Unzicker,Pierce, Heckenast, Wallace.

Heat race winners: Feger, Shirley, Korte, Babb.

B-main winner: Erb.

Provisional starters: Moyer, Spatola, Schlenk, Martin.

C-main winner: Jason Riggs.

Steve Schmitt / Summit Modifieds

    Defending Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Champion Mike Harrison of Highland, Ill., made his first start on the 2012 edition of the tour a good one claiming the 20-lap main event at the Highland Speedway on Wednesday night and placing the 24H into the Casey’s General Stores Victory Lane, the win was worth a nice $1,000.

     Harrison held off NASCAR driver Kenny Wallace originally from Arnold, Mo., over 20 laps after starting side-by-side at the drop of the green flag to become the seventh different winner in as many races in 2012. Wallace, the only non-Illinois native in the top five, would finish second while running his fastest lap on the final circuit. Steve Lach of Brownstown, Ill., finished third. Gabe Menser of Ashmore, Ill, and Chad Sellers of Breese, Ill., rounded out the top five.

Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals A-Main (20-laps):

1. Mike Harrison ($1,000),

2. Kenny Wallace,

3. Steve Lach,

4. Gabe Menser,

5. Chad Sellers,

6. Aaron Kleine,

7. Jeff Curl,

8. Tyler Deibert,

9. Dave Baldwin,

10. Rusty Griffaw,

11. Brock Bauman,

12. John DeMoss,

13. Justin Ketrow,

14. Steven Brooks,

15. Jacob Steinkoenig,

16. Tommy Sheppard Sr,

17. Marty Smith Jr,

18. Brad Venhaus,

19. Jimmy Cummins,

20. Brian Lynn,

21. Donovan Lodge,

22. Brett Korves.

Other Winners

Factory Stocks: Jason Worley

Sport Compacts: Kenny Elliot


Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.