HIGHLAND IL ( June 3, 2011) The first stop on the NALMS (Northern All Stars Late Models) Tri Track Challenge is in the books and Batesville AR’s Billy Moyer lead flag to flag for the $5000 check. The High Side Hustler Jason Feger of Bloomington IL was overall fast qualifier. Heat wins went to Moyer, Mike Spatola, Highland regular Mark Faust and the Mowekwa Missile Shannon Babb.alt

The 21 of Moyer lead all forty laps of the main event, never challenged by any other competitor. Faust hung in for the first part of the race, but faded back as Moyer ran a blistering pace. By lap 10 Moyer had caught the back half of the field and started to slice and dice his way through. Mike Spatola moved into the number two spot as Feger worked his way into the top five. By lap 16 Feger positioned himself into the number 2 spot but by now Moyer had nearly a straight away lead.  At lap 26 the first caution of the race came out for a slowing Randy Korte. This gave an opportunity for Feger and Babb to see the rear of Moyer’s 21 racer. As soon as the green flag flew Moyer looked like he was shot out of a cannon. Several short yellows brought the field back together, and each time the Batesville AR driver took command of the race leaving the two Central Illinois drivers, Feger and Babb to duke it out for second. When the double checkers flew Billy Moyer took home the $5000 check and the first win of the Tri State Challenge. Fri Night the Challenge continues at the Paducah International Raceway Iin Paducah KY and on Saturday night it concludes at The I-55 Raceway in Pevely MO. Feger won the battle for second over Babb, Spatola finished third and Highland regulars Faust and Michael Kloos finished fifth and sixth respectfully.

altScotty Weber starting on the outside pole got the trophy in the Steve Schmitt Modifieds, finishing ahead of Dean Hoffman, Brett Korvis, Steve Lach and Gabe Menser. Wes O’Dell won the dash and O’Dell, Hoffman and Weber picked up heat wins.

Zach Hoffman won in the F/S, and Kyle Swip won in the S/Caltalt

The month of June will be a busy month as June 11th and the 18th we will be honoring past racers from the Speedway. Week 1 of the 2 weekend celebration we’ll be Honoring Drivers from 1962-1990, and Week 2 the drivers from 1991-2009 will be honored. If you were a driver at the Highland Speedway during these two eras please contact Promoter Scott Kuhn about being a part of this event. Both big weekends are sponsored by Excell Bottling of Breese makers of SKI the Official Soda of the Highland Speedway.

On June 22 the “Hell Tour” UMP Summer Nationals will be at the Speedway this is a Wednesday night event and we round out the month of June with “Christmas in June” the Jr Fan Club Mega Bike Giveaway presented by the Highland Optimist Club.

For More information about the Highland Speedway visit our website at highlandspeedway.com on Facebook at Facebook.com/highland speedway or get up to the minute racing information by text by sending Highland to 91011.

NALMS Tri State Challenge Results

Fast Qualifiers by group

Group 1: Feger (Overall fast qualifier)

Group 2: Moyer

Group 3: Kloos

Group 4: Babb


NALMS / UMP Becker Jewelers Late Models – Feature (Top Ten)

Finish Car No Driver

1 21 Billy Moyer

2 25F Jason Feger

3 18 Shannon Babb

4 89S Mike Spatola

5 51 Mark Faust

6 6K Michael Kloos

7 54 Dillan White

8 21JR Billy Moyer, Jr

9 1W Donny Walden

10 24 Ryan Unzicker

UMP Steve Schmitt Modified – Feature (Top Ten)

Finish Car No Driver

1 4J Scott Weber

2 1D Dean Hoffman

3 25 Brett Korves

4 42 Steve Lach

5 G1 Gabe Menser

6 55V Brad Venhaus

7 84 Tyler Deibert

8 44 Jim Werner, Jr

9 87 Wes O Dell

10 24J Jacob Steinkoenig

UMP Factory Stock – Feature (Top Ten)

Finish Car No Driver

1 1Z Zach Hoffman

2 15 Michael Ripperda, Jr

3 54 Shaun Hortsmann

4 52 Tim Koch

5 6 Jake Hewitt

6 8T T J Eilers

7 9X Trevor Isaak

8 29 Stephen Fohne

9 36 Eric Harris

10 18 Jerry Thompson

UMP Sport Compact – Feature (Top Ten)

Finish Car No Driver

1 11 Kyle Swip

2 24 Bob Zbinden

3 63 Brett Eilerman

4 17 Mike Bourland

5 97 Bobby Funderburk

6 18R Robert Shaw

7 47 Christian Lee

8 9X Trevor Isaak

9 21J Jeff Santel

10 9T Travis Horner



Print Friendly, PDF & Email